Fields in Trust

Parks Protector Pledge

As an Elected Member of Parliament, make a public commitment to protect and champion parks and green spaces.

Parks Protector Pledge

We are asking MPs, MSPs, MS’s, MLAs and elected Mayors to publicly commit to supporting these 6 aims.

Value parks and green spaces for their contribution to multiple policy agendas

Champion the important public service parks and green spaces provide locally

Advocate for policies that safeguard parks and green spaces across the country

Endorse the legal protection of my local parks and green spaces

Encourage sufficient and equitable provision of parks and green spaces for all

Support community volunteers on parks and green spaces

I'm an MP, MSP, MS, MLA AM or elected Mayor

Step 1

If you would like to sign the pledge and make a public commitment or if you want to find our more then please get in touch at

We are formally recording pledges from members of the UK Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Senedd Cymru, Northern Ireland Assembly and from elected Mayors.

Step 2

Once you have signed the pledge, we will send you some assets to use on your website and on social media to show you are a key advocate for parks and green spaces and help spread the word.

Why not take your photo in your local park and post that too?

Step 3

Why stop there? We’d love to have a conversation about the value of parks and green spaces plus we’d be happy to provide you with data and insights about your constituency.

Parks and green spaces deserve a better future

We are calling on all political parties to commit to three policy goals that will protect, expand, and improve the future of parks and green spaces, to benefit both societal and environmental health.

Current Park Protectors

Thank you for supporting our cause

Dan Norris

Labour Mayor of West of England

Nick Mathison


Paula Bradshaw

Belfast South

Stewart Dickson

East Antrim

Naomi Long

Belfast East

Anne Clarke AM

Labour Barnet and Camden

Len Duvall AM

Labour Greenwich and Lewisham

Caroline Russell AM

Green London-wide

Zack Polanski AM

Green London-wide

Siân Berry AM

Green London-wide

Elly Baker AM

Labour London-wide

Rt Hon Diane Abbott MP

Independent Hackney North and Stoke Newington

Fleur Anderson MP

Labour Putney

Tonia Antoniazzi MP

Labour Gower

Sarah Atherton MP

Conservative Wrexham

Paula Barker MP

Labour Liverpool Wavertree

Apsana Begum MP

Labour Poplar and Limehouse

Clive Betts MP

Labour Sheffield South East

Dawn Bowden

Labour Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney

Richard Burgon MP

Labour Leeds East

Alexander Burnett

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party Aberdeenshire West

Ian Byrne MP

Labour Liverpool West Derby

Stephanie Callaghan

Scottish National Party Uddingston and Bellshill

Dan Carden MP

Labour Liverpool Walton

Rt Hon Sir Ed Davey MP

Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton

Hefin David

Labour Caerphilly

Jackie Dunbar

Scottish National Party Aberdeen Donside

Janet Finch-Saunders

Conservatives Aberconwy

Lilian Greenwood MP

Labour Nottingham South

Helen Hayes MP

Labour Dulwich and West Norwood

Craig Hoy

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Huw Irranca-Davies

Labour Ogmore

Mark Isherwood

Conservatives North Wales

Kim Johnson MP

Labour Liverpool Riverside

Alison Johnstone

No Party Affiliation

Sarah Jones MP

Labour Croydon Central

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb

Green Party

Afzal Khan MP

Labour Manchester Gorton

Peter Kyle MP

Labour Hove

Pauline Latham MP

Conservative Mid Derbyshire

Kim Leadbeater MBE MP

Labour Batley and Spen

Richard Leonard

Scottish Labour

Chris Loder MP

Conservative West Dorset

Caroline Lucas MP

Green Brighton Pavilion

Seema Malhotra MP

Labour Feltham and Heston

John Mason

Scottish National Party Glasgow Shettleston

Stuart C. McDonald MP

SNP Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East

Rt Hon John McDonnell MP

Labour Hayes and Harlington

Paul McLennan

Scottish National Party East Lothian

Marie McNair

Scottish National Party Clydebank and Milngavie

Ian Mearns MP

Labour Gateshead

Grahame Morris MP

Labour Easington

Rt Hon Wendy Morton MP

Conservative Aldridge-Brownhills

Sir Bob Neill MP

Conservative Bromley and Chislehurst

Audrey Nicoll

Scottish National Party Aberdeen South and North Kincardine

Kate Osborne MP

Labour Jarrow

Baroness Parminter

Liberal Democrat

Rt Hon Chris Philp MP

Conservative Croydon South

Luke Pollard MP

Labour Plymouth Sutton and Devonport

Yasmin Qureshi MP

Labour Bolton South East

Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP

Labour Streatham

Mark Ruskell

Scottish Green Party

Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP

Labour Brighton Kemptown

Jack Sargeant

Labour Alyn and Deeside

Andrew Selous MP

Conservative South West Bedfordshire

David Simmonds MP

Conservative Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner

Lorna Slater

Scottish Green Party

Henry Smith MP

Conservative Crawley

Alex Sobel MP

Labour Leeds North West

Wes Streeting MP

Labour Ilford North

Rt Hon Mark Tami MP

Labour Alyn and Deeside

Richard Thomson MP

SNP Gordon

Jon Trickett MP

Labour Hemsworth

Karl Turner MP

Labour Kingston upon Hull East

Evelyn Tweed

Scottish National Party Stirling

Derek Twigg MP

Labour Halton

Liz Twist MP

Labour Blaydon

Annie Wells

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Martin Whitfield

Scottish Labour

Mick Whitley MP

Labour Birkenhead

Daniel Zeichner MP

Labour Cambridge

Ask your MP to take action

If you are a member of the public then use our simple tool to drop your MP a quick email.

You might also be interested in...

About Us

We are the only charity in the UK working to protect parks and green spaces for good.


Delve into our latest research into the importance of parks and green spaces.

What we are working on

Dive into the details of how our work has benefited communities just like yours.

Parks and green spaces near me

How green is your neighbourhood? Discover the parks and green spaces within a ten-minute walk from home using our interactive tool.